2018 Democratic Candidates

Southwest Missouri Democrats are proud to announce there are candidates running in all seven state house district where we serve — and that is a record. Also, we have a candidate running for the 32nd Senatorial seat, a candidate for Dade County Presiding Commissioner, and there are four Democratic candidates facing off in a primary for the opportunity to run against Rep. Billy Long. Here Are the Candidates:

MO – Senate District – 32 Carolyn McGowan of Webb City has spent a lifetime in education. Beginning in 1964 she taught altogether for 13 years in various public schools, ending with three years as Instructor at Missouri Southern. She also has been the owner and director of Pinocchio Preschool, a performing arts preschool in Webb City. Carolyn has been an actor and director of Joplin Little Theater from 1987 to the present.

Among Carolyn’s many other volunteer community duties are her service on the Webb City Council for three terms and her brief term as Mayor. She worked to get fair treatment for women employees in Webb City and she has volunteered for years on the Webb City Library Board and on the Webb City Historical Board. She was a Bernie Sanders supporter in 2016.

She is married to Don McGowan; they have two sons, five grandchildren, and two step-grandchildren.

MO State House Races

House District 127: Teri Hanna

House District 157: Loretta Thomas

House District 159: Jerry Sparks

House District 160: Angela Thomas

House District 161: Elizabeth Lundstrum

House District 162: Sarah Hinkle

House District 163: Chad Fletcher

Dade County Presiding Commissioner: Bob Glenn

7th Congressional District.

Jamie Daniel Schoolcraft



U.S. Senate Race

Senator Claire McCaskill (D)

Nicole Galloway is our current MO State Auditor and our (D) candidate in this 2018 Statewide race.